News Back to News

New NHS Mandate identifies end of life care as priority area

The first Mandate between the Government and the NHS Commissioning Board, setting out the ambitions for the health service for the next two years, has been published today.

Through the Mandate, the NHS will be measured, for the first time, by how well it achieves the things that really matter to people. The Mandate is structured around five key areas where the Government expects the NHS Commissioning Board to make improvements. The five areas below correspond to the five parts of the NHS Outcomes Framework which can be viewed here:

  1. Preventing people from dying prematurely
  2. Enhancing quality of life for people with long-term conditions
  3. Helping people to recover from episodes of ill health or following injury
  4. Ensuring that people have a positive experience of care
  5. Treating and caring for people in a safe environment and protecting them from avoidable harm.

The Government has identified the following priority areas where it is expecting particular progress to be made:

  • Improving standards of care and not just treatment, especially for older people and at the end of people's lives
  • The diagnosis, treatment and care of people with dementia
  • Supporting people with multiple long-term physical and mental health conditions, particularly by embracing opportunities created by technology, and delivering a service that values mental and physical health equally
  • Preventing premature deaths from the biggest killers
  • Furthering economic growth, including supporting people with health conditions to remain in or find work.

The Mandate has been drawn up following consultation with the public, health professionals and key organisations across the health system between July and September 2012." National End of Life Programme website